| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
103959
Joined: 04 Sep 2007 Posts: 2 Location: Northern California
|
Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2007 3:55 pm Post subject: Therapist finder fraud? |
|
|
| I have recently been contacted by an individual who claimed to get my e-mail address from Therapist Finder. He said he lives in Great Britian, but would be vacationing with his fiancee in China and California and wanted to set up a number of Marital Counseling Sessions during the time he would be in the US. I agreed to see him and provided three dates for us to meet. This person insisted on pre-paying for the sessions and sent me a cashiers check for an amount far exceeding the agreed fee for my services. I am suspicious that he may be trying some sort of scam. Have any other MFTs been contacted in this way or am I just paranoid?
|
|
| Back to top |
|
zazen
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 Posts: 4 Location: Mission Valley
|
Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
| Interesting my intern has been also contacted by the same type of client. Exact same scenarion, will be here on business. Any ideas
_________________ DR. Antonio Marotta
|
|
| Back to top |
|
103959
Joined: 04 Sep 2007 Posts: 2 Location: Northern California
|
Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:44 am Post subject: Therapist finder fraud? |
|
|
| The "Cashier's Check" mailed to me by this "Client" turned out to be fraudulent. I destroyed it, but was later told that I should have notified the FBI or Post Office Inspectors about the use of the mail to commit fraud. These guys are not too sophisticated - I think it's pretty easy to see that they are attempting to manipulate the therapist into sending them some money.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
zazen
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 Posts: 4 Location: Mission Valley
|
Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:48 am Post subject: fraud |
|
|
| thanks they are on craigslist also for other things etc
_________________ DR. Antonio Marotta
|
|
| Back to top |
|
bhmmft@juno.com
Joined: 19 Nov 2007 Posts: 1 Location: Turlock, CA
|
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| I have received this same e-mail and I did respond to him also but I did not feel good about it and did nothing after a couple e-mails. I would like to know more about this if it truley is fraud.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
zazen
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 Posts: 4 Location: Mission Valley
|
Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 9:08 am Post subject: Fraud |
|
|
| Yes it is fraud. My intern researched and found that it is happening on craigslist but with paintings etc. They send more money than requested and then try to get it back. Leave it alone
_________________ DR. Antonio Marotta
|
|
| Back to top |
|
mdgrubbs

Joined: 30 Mar 2007 Posts: 4 Location: Northern Santa Barbara County
|
Posted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 6:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| The "overpayment" scam is an old one. They "over pay" then realize thier "mistake" and ask you to refund them the difference. Your check is good, theirs is not and you lose.
_________________ M. D. Grubbs
|
|
| Back to top |
|
|